Comparison

Best AI for Canvas quizzes and assignments, compared

There is no single best AI for Canvas. Tools for Canvas quizzes and assignments fall into five kinds, and they differ in who does the clicking, whether they work in New Quizzes, and whether they submit.

Disclosure. We make Silent Student, one of the tools below. We did not test the others; their rows quote their own pages, store listings and READMEs, checked 19 October 2026.
Checked 19 October 2026
The short answer

The short answer: pick by the job you have

You want to understand the material

Canvas’s own IgniteAI, where your school turned it on: Instructure’s guide “applies to institutions that have opted in for IgniteAI related feature options”. Its Study Tools make summaries, quizzes and flash cards from course files. Otherwise, a chatbot or NotebookLM.

You are stuck on one question and will click yourself

An in-page extension (Canvas Quiz Solver, CanvasPass, Answerly AI) shows an answer on the quiz page; a screenshot helper (Apex Vision AI, SnapGPT, Campus AI, QuizSolverAI) reads your screen. You enter the answer.

You want answers filled in on the page

FastSolve fills the answer when you double-click a question, and its Canvas page says you submit. Canvas Pilot is a Tampermonkey userscript with a “Review Before Submit” switch and credits from $10 (canvaspilot.org).

You want the assignment worked and turned in

An agent. Silent Student is a desktop app with its own browser. Colorado State University’s teaching institute reported on 30 October 2025 that AI browsers such as Perplexity Comet and OpenAI Atlas can complete Canvas quizzes. Futurism reported Einstein, an agent from Companion.AI, on 23 February 2026; the page it linked showed “Page not found” on 19 October 2026, so we could not confirm it is available.

Your instructor uses LockDown Browser or proctoring

None of these. CSU recommends Respondus LockDown Browser against AI browsers. FastSolve and SnapGPT say it blocks extensions, the Canvas Quiz Solver guide says “It does not run inside LockDown Browser”, and Silent Student does not take proctored exams.

This is also a policy decision. Instructure’s Acceptable Use Policy and your school’s rules apply to every option; see What Instructure says.
Options compared

The options, side by side

“Not stated” means the option’s own pages do not say. Sources sit under each name.

Canvas AI tools compared from their own pages, checked 19 October 2026
OptionKindWhere it runsWorks in New QuizzesWho submitsPrice on its pageListing: users, rating, last update
IgniteAI (Instructure)Source: Instructure guide 664510Canvas’s own AIInside Canvas, where the school opted in.Not applicable. Study Tools do not answer quizzes.Not applicable. Study Tools make “summaries, quizzes, and flash cards”.Not stated. Your school decides.None; built into Canvas.
ChatGPT or Gemini, by handSource: ChatGPT pricing · Google AI plansChatbotAnother tab or app.Not applicable. It never sees the quiz page.You. You type or click every answer back.ChatGPT lists Free, Go, Plus and Pro (prices did not load for us). Google: Free, paid from $4.99 a month.Not applicable.
Canvas Quiz SolverSource: canvasquiz.com · store listingNotable limits: markets itself as “Undetectable”. Its site shows 4.9 from 96 ratings; we quote the listing.In-page quiz extensionChrome, Canvas only.“Works on Classic and New Quizzes.”Not stated. The answer appears under the question.Free answers, then $14.99 a month or $48.99 every 4 months.2,000 users; 4.5 from 87 ratings; version 3.9.1, 17 October 2026.
CanvasPassSource: canvaspass.sbs · store listingNotable limits: markets “Stealth mode” on every plan.In-page quiz extensionChrome.“Classic & New Quizzes”.Not stated. “AI answers injected directly into every Canvas quiz question.”Free: 10 questions per 12 hours (listing: 5 a week). $5 a month for 800 credits, $10 for 1,500.211 users; no ratings; version 3.9, 26 August 2026.
Answerly AISource: getanswerlyai.com · store listingNotable limits: markets a “Stealth Mode”.In-page quiz extensionChrome and Firefox.“Classic Quizzes and New Quizzes, both fully supported”.Not stated. It fills answers, all at once with “Solve All”.$12.99 a month, 150 Quiz Solver uses a day.1,000 users; 5.0 from 26 ratings; version 1.3.52, 15 October 2026.
Apex Vision AISource: Canvas page · home and FAQ · pricing · store listingScreenshot helperChrome extension, plus iOS and Android apps.Not stated. Its Canvas page says controls “may differ” between engines.You. Its top-plan agent can “fill answer boxes”, then you submit (its FAQ).Free: 30 requests plus a refill every 12 hours. $7.99, $14.99 or $19.99 a month.8,000 users; 4.9 from 2.1K ratings; version 6.0.16, 4 October 2026.
SnapGPTSource: Canvas page · pricing · store listingScreenshot helperChrome and Firefox.“Works on Classic Quizzes and New Quizzes”.You. Its paid Autopilot “never submits anything”.Free: 5 screenshot requests a day. Plus: $7.99 a week, $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year.2,000 users; 4.8 from 5 ratings; version 4.4.11, 15 October 2026.
QuizSolverAISource: quizsolverai.com · pricing · store listingScreenshot helperChrome, Edge, Firefox, Opera, Yandex; “20+ platforms”.Not stated.Not stated. It shows answers on the page.Free plan with daily credits. $5.42, $8.00 or $18.75 a month, billed yearly.20,000 users; 3.9 from 76 ratings; version 2.0.1, 26 May 2026.
Campus AISource: extension page · pricing · store listingScreenshot helperChrome; listing names Canvas, Blackboard, Moodle, D2L.Not stated.You. “Screenshot and solve”.$4.99 a month, or $39.99 a year.3,000 users; 4.7 from 88 ratings; version 0.2.2, 15 April 2026.
FastSolveSource: Canvas page · store listingNotable limits: markets itself as staying “invisible on screenshare”.Auto-fill extensionChrome; also other LMSs.“Classic & New Quizzes both supported”.You. Double-click fills an answer, then “Submit when you’re done”.Free: 10 solves a day. $9.99 a week, $19.99 a month or $99 a year.5,000 users; 4.1 from 26 ratings; version 3.3.15, 7 October 2026.
Canvas PilotSource: canvaspilot.orgAuto-fill userscriptTampermonkey in Chrome, Edge, Firefox or Safari. Not school Chromebooks or phones.Not stated.Not stated plainly: “hands-off on autopilot” or “Review Before Submit”.Credits from $10. A quiz answer costs 5 of the 2,000 credits $10 buys.No store listing. “Just launched. No reviews yet.”
AI browsers (Perplexity Comet, OpenAI Atlas)Source: Comet page · CSU TILTAI browserComet: “Available for Mac, Windows, iOS, and Android”. OpenAI’s Atlas pages refused our request.Not stated by either maker.Not stated by the makers. CSU says Perplexity’s browser can “select the correct options”; Atlas shows answers in a sidebar.Not stated on the pages we could load.Not applicable.
Silent Student OursSource: How it works · pricing · benchmarkDesktop agentDesktop app with its own browser. Mac with Apple Silicon, macOS 13 or later (Intel Macs: available to members by request); Windows 10 or later, 64-bit.The app opens New Quizzes, which Canvas runs as a separate tool, and works them. We have no New Quizzes replica score.It does. Essays, discussion posts and uploads wait for your approval; some quizzes are held.$11.99, $24.99 or $49.99 a month. No free plan or trial; money-back guarantee.No store listing or rating. Public beta.

How this table was made. We did not test the other options. Their rows come from their own sites and Chrome Web Store listings, fetched 19 October 2026. Prices change, so check the source. We make Silent Student, so read our row with that in mind.

What it leaves out. Accuracy percentages: sellers print their own, measured differently, and ours does not cover Canvas quizzes (see Where Silent Student fits). Head-to-heads: Chrome extensions, Canvas Quiz Solver, SnapGPT, Apex Vision AI and FastSolve.

What each kind does

What is each kind of tool good and bad at?

Canvas’s own AI

Instructure lists a dozen IgniteAI features, mostly for instructors, such as rubric generation and discussion summaries. The student one, IgniteAI Study Tools, turns course files and pages into summaries, quizzes and flash cards. If your Canvas looks different, Instructure says, “the feature has not been enabled at your institution.”

Good at

  • Nothing extra to install
  • Built from your own course material

Bad at

  • Only at schools that opted in
  • Makes study material, not answers to graded work

Chatbots by hand

ChatGPT, Gemini or NotebookLM in another tab. They explain well, and ChatGPT and Gemini both list free plans. The cost is the round trip: you copy or screenshot every question in, then type or click every answer back. That suits one stuck question or learning a topic before a test, but across a 20-question quiz it is slow.

Good at

  • Explanations and practice
  • Free tiers

Bad at

  • Slow across a whole quiz
  • Sees only what you paste in

In-page quiz extensions

Canvas Quiz Solver, CanvasPass and Answerly AI add a button to each quiz question and show the answer on the page. All three say they work in New Quizzes. Like every extension, each runs in the browser profile where you are signed in to everything else, with permission to read and change pages.

Good at

  • One click per question
  • New Quizzes stated
  • From $5 a month

Bad at

  • Quiz pages only
  • Permissions reach your other signed-in sites

Screenshot helpers

Apex Vision AI, SnapGPT, Campus AI and QuizSolverAI read what is on your screen, so they work on any page, including the courseware a Canvas assignment opens. You enter each answer. Apex’s top plan adds an agent that fills answer boxes, and its FAQ says you submit. Free allowances differ: SnapGPT 5 screenshot requests a day, Apex 30 plus a 12-hour refill.

Good at

  • Any site, images included
  • Free daily allowances

Bad at

  • One question at a time
  • Request caps

Auto-fill extensions and scripts

FastSolve fills an answer when you double-click a question. Canvas Pilot, a userscript, can work a page “hands-off on autopilot” or hold each answer for review, and drafts essays and discussion posts. Its page lists Pearson, ALEKS, WebAssign and file uploads as not covered. Both run in your everyday browser, so the extension permission point above applies.

Good at

  • Less clicking
  • Pay per answer (Canvas Pilot)

Bad at

  • Runs in your everyday browser profile
  • Courseware outside Canvas

AI browsers

Perplexity’s Comet and OpenAI’s Atlas are general browsers with an assistant built in. CSU’s teaching institute describes Perplexity’s browser selecting answers on a Canvas quiz, and Atlas giving “a complete answer key in a sidebar”. The Comet page we loaded does not mention Canvas. CSU recommends LockDown Browser in response.

Good at

  • Acts on any page
  • Nothing Canvas-specific to install

Bad at

  • A general assistant, not built for coursework
  • Runs in the browser you take the quiz in

Desktop agents

Silent Student is a desktop app with its own browser. It signs in to Canvas, works the queue by due date, and follows assignments out to WebAssign, MyLab, Connect and other tools. It holds essays, discussion posts and uploads for your approval. Its limits are listed below under Where Silent Student fits.

Good at

  • Whole assignments, courseware included
  • A browser profile of its own

Bad at

  • A Mac or Windows computer left awake
  • No free plan; public beta
Different jobs

Quizzes, essays, discussions and the courseware Canvas opens are different jobs

Most extensions in the table act on Canvas quiz pages. But a Canvas assignment can also be an essay, a discussion post, a file upload, or a link that opens WebAssign, Pearson MyLab or McGraw Hill Connect, which Canvas Pilot’s page lists as not covered.

Silent Student follows the link and works it there: see Canvas, WebAssign, McGraw Hill Connect and Pearson MyLab. To compare tools for the courseware itself: McGraw Hill Connect, WebAssign and MindTap, Pearson MyLab.

How to choose

Eight things to check first

  1. New Quizzes, in its own words. Canvas has two quiz engines; if a tool’s page does not say New Quizzes, do not assume it.
  2. Question types it cannot parse. Look for a “not supported” list. Canvas Pilot names graphing and file uploads; we name calculated and in-quiz file-upload questions.
  3. Who presses submit. SnapGPT says it “never submits”, FastSolve leaves it to you, and an agent does it for you.
  4. Whether written work is held. Essays and discussion posts go out under your name; check you can read them first.
  5. The last listing update. The Canvas Quiz Solver guide left out Wizard because its listing was last updated on 13 December 2024; on 19 October 2026 the listing still showed that date.
  6. What it does with your login and pages. An extension reads pages in your everyday profile. Silent Student keeps your Canvas login on your computer, encrypted by the macOS Keychain or Windows (security).
  7. Price per answer or unlimited. Credits, daily caps, request caps and flat plans do not compare by headline price.
  8. Its LockDown and proctoring stance. A tool that claims to work under proctoring is a red flag.

Red flags: “undetectable” or “stealth” in the marketing (Wizard’s listing says “Stay undetectable”), reviews you cannot trace, and any request for your school password in a file or a message.

The rules

What does Instructure say, what does your school decide, and what about proctored quizzes?

Instructure’s Acceptable Use Policy

The Acceptable Use Policy, effective 12 August 2025, lists things users may not do or help a third party do. One is to “access, search, or create accounts for the Service by any means other than our publicly supported interfaces”. Another is to “share your API tokens, login, password, or other access credentials for the Service with any third party”.

In our reading, the policy does not name AI tools, but those two clauses can reach any tool that signs in to Canvas for you or works Canvas through its web pages, Silent Student included. That holds whether or not anything is detected. We are not lawyers. Read the policy yourself before you decide.

Your school

The same policy bars using Canvas in a way that is “prohibited by the policies, rules, or procedures of the party that has provided you with access to the Service”, and names “your school’s academic integrity policy” as an example. So your school’s rules are part of Canvas’s rules. Silent Student’s Terms (section 5) make you responsible for both.

Proctored quizzes

CSU’s Academic Integrity Program recommends Respondus LockDown Browser for Canvas assessments: “the LockDown Browser alone is sufficient” against AI browsers. Silent Student does not take proctored exams (pricing; Terms section 4).

Where Silent Student fits

Where does Silent Student fit?

What it is

A desktop app for Mac and Windows from El Dorado Ignition LLC (about us). You connect Canvas once; it works your queue by due date and submits in Canvas or the courseware an assignment opens.

Plans are $11.99, $24.99 and $49.99 a month; no free plan or trial. If it can’t complete your first paid assignment, you can ask for that payment back within 30 days (pricing). The Mac public beta is self-signed and not notarized; the Windows one is unsigned.

What we measured

95% of graded answers, 156 of 164, on 7 publisher-site replicas, scored 22 September 2026; there is no Canvas-quiz replica yet. The replicas are copies we built, not live accounts, and the engine has changed since. Method and recordings: benchmark page.

Where it stops

  • Calculated and in-quiz file-upload questions have no handler.
  • Essays, discussion posts and uploads are always held for your approval.
  • A quiz with fewer than half its questions answered is not submitted.
  • It does not take proctored exams.
  • No Chromebook or iPad.
More questions

Is there a Canvas answer bot?

Yes, several kinds, and they differ in who clicks and who submits. In-page extensions such as Canvas Quiz Solver, CanvasPass and Answerly AI show or fill answers on the quiz page; Answerly AI fills them all at once with “Solve All”. FastSolve fills an answer when you double-click a question, and you submit. Canvas Pilot is a Tampermonkey userscript with a “Review Before Submit” switch. Silent Student, which we make, is a desktop app that works the quiz in its own browser and submits it, and holds essays, discussion posts and uploads for your approval. None of them is for a LockDown Browser quiz, and Instructure’s Acceptable Use Policy applies to all of them (what it says).

Which Canvas question types does Silent Student handle?

Classic and New Quizzes, essays, discussion posts, file uploads and the courseware Canvas links open. It has no handler for calculated or in-quiz file-upload questions, and it does not take proctored or LockDown Browser quizzes.

Canvas work and how Silent Student handles it
Canvas workHandledNotes
Classic QuizzesYesMost question types; not calculated or in-quiz file-upload questions.
New QuizzesYesOpened in the separate tool Canvas runs them in. No New Quizzes replica score yet.
Essays (online text entry)Yes, heldWaits for your approval.
Discussion postsYes, heldWaits for your approval.
File uploadsYes, heldWaits for your approval.
Courseware opened from CanvasYesWebAssign, MindTap, Connect, MyLab, ALEKS and others, each with its own limits.
Proctored or LockDown Browser quizzesNoLeft for you to take.

Timed quizzes are not held for review. What Canvas does when a time limit runs out, and how the Until date interacts with it, is in our guide What happens when a Canvas quiz time limit runs out?

How much does an AI for Canvas cost?

Anywhere from free to $49.99 a month, going by the prices each tool listed on 19 October 2026. Most extensions start free with a cap: SnapGPT gives 5 screenshot requests a day, FastSolve 10 solves a day, and Apex Vision AI 30 requests plus a refill every 12 hours. Paid extension plans run from $4.99 a month (Campus AI) to $19.99 a month (FastSolve, and Apex Vision AI’s top plan), and Canvas Pilot sells credits from $10. Silent Student has no free plan or trial: $11.99, $24.99 or $49.99 a month, with a first-assignment money-back guarantee. IgniteAI lists no price; your school decides whether to turn it on. Each row of the table links its source.

Quick answers

Common questions

Sources and dates

Where each fact came from

Every outside source, checked 19 October 2026.

Instructure, CSU and press

The other options

Silent Student

Canvas, Instructure and IgniteAI are trademarks of their owners. Silent Student is not affiliated with or endorsed by Instructure.Published by the maker of Silent Student. Other products’ details are from their public pages as of 19 October 2026.

If you want the assignment worked and turned in

Silent Student works Canvas assignments and the courseware they open, and holds your writing for approval.

Plans from $11.99/mo · Cancel anytime · See pricing